A Space of My Own 我的空间

Campus Retreat and Other Stuff

Posted on: May 12, 2009

I’m back from Campus Retreat in Sembawang (Singapore) and now I’m back home too. 🙂 Hunny’s here as well.

I don’t really feel like blogging now but I know if I don’t do this now I’ll never.

Anyway, here are some take-homes and memories from the retreat. Stacey has uploaded pictures.

Fellowship

I guess I do seldom talk to the girls on campus, so much as even Wing Mei noticed that a bit. I’m glad that we got to bunk together in one room (though WM and I were separated the other night), so I kind of interacted more with the girls and got to know them more.

Get-together times were fun too (as in ALL of us), but outside the rooms, the groups were considerably larger and interaction rate was lower. Still, it was fun. I liked all meal-times and devos.

Games

I enjoyed Day 1’s games the most. Stacey’s games were the type I liked – sort of competitive and all indoors. Sorry Kailing, and co. who organized the outdoor games. I have nothing against outdoor games. As I said many a time, I should have brought a cap. (Still I wouldn’t like it wet on my head though). After that we played some more games in the guys room like the Animal Game and Polar Bear. Polar Bear was the game I liked the least, because it was too tense for my liking (the choosing the bears part). After that it was fine, because I was not chosen to be a Bear. I got murdered instead!

And yay there was ice-cream on both Day 1 and Day 2! I love ice-cream.

Outdoor games were unexpectedly fun as well. I like the frisbee and I found that I didn’t really mind water bombing after all. Wing Mei got the ultimate satisfaction of smacking a water bomb on me right before everything ended. 😦 I got some kind of heat stroke (she suspects that it is) and had to stay back under the shade for a while. But I"m not complaining because that’s when they started playing with the banana and papaya and I was quite glad to miss that part of it. 🙂

Anyway games were good. Hehe. Although I’m not really a games person.

Message and Workshop

The camp’s theme is ‘Drawing Near’. I like the theme. I like the speaker and the way he presented his content too. Drawing near to God is both worship and obedience in way of life – it’s all or nothing principle. God should not be the ‘first’ in your heart, because He is ‘everything’. Oh, what a reminder.

The workshops on how to study the Bible according to context and not simply lift the scripture verses here and there without fully comprehending is good too. I can’t say I agree 100% with everything taught but those I agreed to were useful. Those I didn’t I guess I’ll just have to find out more about them 🙂

Thanks Simon for finding us a good speaker.

Worship

I got to serve in worship this time. I never touched my piano in hall this semester except when my hall activities require me to do so. So I was pretty unfamiliar with the keys for those four times of worship sessions I served. Nevertheless the experience was good. It brought back those memories on the person I was when I was a new pianist. The feelings of trying to be alert, being careful, trying to find out which parts to be emotional and which the be conservative. I loved worship. Big thanks to the two Jonathans for being so flexible to work with! And I think, I finally found out that part of me that can really break out to worship. 🙂 It’s the best experience for me in this camp.

Overall, big thanks to Simon for organizing the camp and everyone who helped out in one way or other! Especially Justin and Kai Ling (at least I see them busy most of the time), Jon Chong for leading worship and Stacey for pics! Yay 🙂 

2 Responses to "Campus Retreat and Other Stuff"

Sounds like fun!

Yup 🙂

Leave a Reply

