A Space of My Own 我的空间

OMC, My Laptop and Central Library

Posted on: June 23, 2009

Yes, these three probably sum up how I spend my days.

OMC = RHOM
= Raffles Hall Orientation Marketing Comm. We had a meeting yesterday
and I felt that I was suddenly left with nothing much to do. The CDs
were going to cost a bomb and by tomorrow if no one sends in replies to
me I’m going to have to call again. I’m try going to help Float instead
once in a while but I feel lazy today, so I’ll do it tomorrow.

Yesterday
I did one of my biggest bouts of callings. It was funny how those
company representatives kept on reminding me that there’s recession
now. Well, it might be recession but some sponsorship needs do remain
needs in the end. That makes me feel more and more thick-faced when I’m
sourcing for materials somehow. Fortunately there’s less work to do
this semester compared to last year. I should be pleased but somehow I
wish there was more to do. I loved working with the team last year, it
was so bonding and fun.

There are just a few sites I frequent in
the internet these days. Youtube. Restaurant city – I maxed all my
recipies a few levels ago and it’s pretty fun now just turning it on
and letting things run. Just have to feed my employees once in a while
(for those who know what I’m talking about). All the same it’s rather
boring too.

Central library is quite far off from hall now –
with the infrequent busses (especially weekends), and the closing of of
the front path of the hall. It means that if I’m to walk there I’ll
have to make one big circle around the hall to do it. Sigh. Yet it is
my favorite place to visit these hols. It’s weird – last time it was
holidays and they had to make us take our temperature before going in.
Now H1N1 has actually invaded NUS (8 cases), and no one’s taking our
temperature. In fact I couldn’t even access the website that we were
supposed to record our temperatures in.

Anyway I like Central
library. I’m already borrowing all sorts of murder and detective
stories plus Roald Dahl books. I know NUS is all academic and research,
but I do wish they would have more nice fictional stories – like
romance novels and the lot. Well, I guess I shouldn’t be complaining –
at least I have some short stories to read now.

I wanted to go
and walk about quite a lot these hols, but looks like H1N1 is saving me
all my transport fares. With it being around like this in NUS, I fear
the best option is to stay in my room to study for next sem, play
computer games or watch movies.

4 Responses to "OMC, My Laptop and Central Library"

Ha, the English Authors seem to be the best……

Gail, daddy bought a hundred CDs (normal brand) for RM 0.40 each only lerh…so your CDs won\’t cause a bomb gua…

go central library can cut through engin lor…there\’s Roald Dahl books there? Cool…

ZJun: Yup you could borrow them through. Cutting through engin is like going round a big circle though.Dawn: OK, but still they are quite ex 😦 I got some price quotes dy.Martyn: Yes I think so 🙂

Leave a Reply

