A Space of My Own 我的空间

Combined Worship Sunday

Posted on: June 29, 2009

The second combined worship I served in was over. James was the song leader like last year, and some of the songs were the same.

At
first I thought the choir was going to be really big judging by the
amount of the people who came to practice but in the end, it was just
OK because some people left during 2nd service, and others didn’t come
until then. That pretty much evens out things.

I was pretty
happy that I joined this time’s combined worship. Got to know new
people, fellowship with campus (supper!) and serve God in worship! It
was a humbling experience too. I think the lady singers had great
potential. The youth had nice voices, and could catch on quickly. The
Filipino ladies had really powerful voices! I was lost amongst them,
but I was quite glad they were around because if everyone sang my
volume no one would have heard the singing.

Altogether it was fun and meaningful.

After
worship we had our usual lunch outing. The car to people ratio was
surprisingly big and we had empty seats for once. In fact most of the
lunch/suppers I go to now have empty seats. Last time we used to
squeeze like sardines (five girls at the back!) behind Simon’s car,
LOL. We had Peranakan dishes for lunch. After that we went to the PUB
reservoir where Juin Ming fished. It was a sight, with most of them
trying to catch prawns and shrimps formally dressed! I didn’t feel like
trying (as usual) so I snapped pictures with my phone instead. Will
upload them to facebook some time (don’t feel like doing it now, hehe).

I’m
going back to Malaysia for around 1 week on the 2oth or so. Wish it
could be longer, but there are things like house-moving to do, and I
have to prepare for the start of the semester also.

I’ve been
moving in and out facebook lately and discovered some nice games. One
of them is UNO, which is something like MSN’s UNO, only they match you
with other people instead of the computer.
Usually the matches are quite quick, and I like the fact that they give
each turn a time limit of 15 secondsso that you can’t drag time too
much when you’re thinking. Some people think so horribly long you see.
Usually those still holding a lot of cards after some time will get
impatient and leave.

Another game I like to play once in a while is Typing Maniac.

I
don’t play this too often because it’s too fast pace for my liking. For
those who know Waka-Waka, this is by the same producers, only more fun
because they actually test your typing speed instead of how fast you
eat enemies, which is more meaningful, in my opinion. And all in all,
it is not actually your typing speed that gets tested, it’s how you
strategize while typing. In fact I think towards the end, strategizing
is more important than typing (provided that you can type fast enough
in the first place), because that’s what saves your neck. They rank all
your friends too, so you know how much they do. I’m now fourth place,
but maybe I’ll be overtaken soon because it seems to be the latest
craze among RH people.

Today I’ve got lots of free time to study
and play around as usual. I’ve got a new little list of things to
source for but unfortunately I can’t start work because I don’t know
the quantity needed yet. So this is it, till the next blog post 🙂

6 Responses to "Combined Worship Sunday"

Hi there!About the part:The Filipino ladies had really powerful voices! I was lost amongst them, but I was quite glad they were around because if everyone sang my volume no one would have heard the singing.Does it mean that there are Filipinos at NUS too?

I always admire people in the choir ~ i wish i could sing like them!Please upload your photo\’s on this space ~ Facebook is becoming soooooooo last season!!!!

Wes: Just in my church 🙂 But there are filipino\’s in NUS too.Martyn: Haha all of us can sing! It\’s a God-given instrument.

Not me ~ u wanna hear!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hehe I don\’t mind.

Really?Sigh. I took the challenge of applying for SG scholarship with NUS as the first choice followed by NTU. I received a call from the embassy saying I am one of those applicants who are in the shortlisted list. Sadly, I was not able to take the exam. Hopefully by God\’s grace, I\’ll be there in NUS soon. Hehe=]

Leave a Reply

