A Space of My Own 我的空间

Celebrating Daylight

Posted on: November 27, 2009

It was 6 something in the morning and it was just so delightful when I
took a walk to Cheers when everything was quiet and peaceful in Raffles
Hall. Most residents were still asleep and the atmosphere of a sleeping
NUS around the YIH area was so serene. But a few hours after that there
will be noise and queues, the buses will start operating and a life of
intense mugging will start.

On the way back to my room.


You can’t see the sun but the clouds show you it’s there through their colors 🙂
You can’t see God but nature shows you He’s there and has orchestrated their beauty.

This
is not so pretty but it’s a view from my room and I like it because
it’s my favorite room! The ground is empty because renovations killed
all the grass but they will grow soon! The blocks on the right are
still being renovated.

I realize that the
main reason why I can actually start enjoying this morning when I’m not
Wing Mei or any other ‘nature-loving’ person but it is that I don’t have exams
today. Pathetic reason, I know. But when I have a stressful papers
coming up in just a few hours, daybreak after mugging through the night
is really not very welcome because it means I have less time to cover
whatever I need to cover. And it’s the time I start feeling really
tired.

My exams are not over yet. One paper down, three more to
go next Monday, Wednesday and Thursday. Then Tirza told me yesterday, that
Simon told her Wayne’s going back to Hong Kong on the 30th (next
Monday). He asked me and the other campus people out for dinner last
night quite a number of days before but I turned down the invitation
because I had very limited time to mug for exams, and I didn’t know he
was going back HK for good so soon! Fortunately I got the news early
enough and actually took quite long to decide whether to go or not
because my revision progress was terribly slow and anything might
potentially make me go a letter grade down or more in exams. In the end
I decided to go, and went. In fact I felt terrible even considering not
going even after knowing that I won’t be seeing Wayne again (till
someone get’s married, he promised to come back to Singapore if any one
of us got married). What in the world has exams turned me into, even
considering not saying farewell to a friend (and Yeh Yeh!) for the last
time! Horrible.

It was a fun night out and Simon and Jiun Ming
were very kind because Simon fetched us to Sakae Sushi in Marina Bay
for that farewell dinner, and JM fetched us back. 😀 They are always
generous with their time and petrol! Pictures of the farewell dinner
will be up after exams. In fact I didn’t take too many because I saw
Wayne brought his own camera and I got lazy. I wish he didn’t have to
go back HK though because I miss him already! Maybe it’s because I know
I won’t be seeing him again (till someone gets married) and also we’re
both from the Lee family (although his is ‘Li’ in Chinese it’s the
same) and I call him Yeh Yeh, and I still owe him ice-cream for his
birthday! Wayne, if you’re reading this I’ll treat you ice-cream if you
come for Friday BS before going home. Or after you come back to
Singapore again one day.

I was in JM’s car on the way home and
was so tired I was nodding away on the way back. Still as we passed by
the city area I saw all the lights and then again thought that
Singapore would be such a lovely place if it was not all about
meritocracy and stress. The daybreak today was so nice, the environment
so peaceful and green, the city was clean and beautiful. It would be so
perfect, as it even seems now when I’m a student and not yet exposed to
the stress in the working world. Even taking exams as a student has
distorted me so much. How much more will I change after I work?

Somehow my thoughts remind me about this all-famous story about peace:

Years
ago a major art gallery sponsored a competition for painters. They were
offering prizes for the best painting on the subject of "Peace." As
attenders browsed through the entries, most had decided that a one
certain painting was almost sure to win. It portrayed this lush green
pasture under a vivid blue sky, with the cows grazing lazily and a
little boy walking through the grass with his fishing pole over his
shoulder. It really made you feel peaceful. But it came in second. The
painting that won was a real surprise. The scene was the ocean in a
violent storm. The sky was ominous, the lightning was cutting across
the sky, and the waves were crashing into the rock walls of the cliffs
by the shore. No peace. But you had to look twice to understand what
was going on. There, about halfway up the cliff, was a birds’ nest,
tucked into a tiny hollow in the rock. A mother bird was sitting on
that nest – with her little babies, tucked underneath her, sleeping
soundly. That was peace!

True peace – is not walking under
the daybreak sunlight knowing that there are no exams today. Real peace
is walking into the exam hall knowing that I’ve done all I could and
God is holding my hand. Real peace is not fretting over results when
exams are over, not fretting over job search after I graduate, knowing
I’ve done all I can and God takes care of my future, only providing the
best for me. Peace is knowing that even in Singapore, I can take time
to enjoy daybreaks and sunsets, because each today is a gift, and
tomorrow is well taken-care of and provided for.

Ahh! I have so
much to learn! I need more faith. Open my eyes and let me see, Lord.
Let me see and acknowledge there’s the sun behind the clouds and the
Lord behind the nature I behold penerates and guides over every little
detail of my life for His glory.

3 Responses to "Celebrating Daylight"

o m g the renovations killed all the grass??? ))): terrible. jiayou for your exams; hang in there and be strong!

Thanks Piang! Yes it did 😦 But they replanted the grass directly in front of all the blocks (the place where we hang clothes) so it\’s not so bad. And the grass at the side of block 2 is still there. Sighss.

Amen ~ true Peace is from the LordAll the best for ur exams next week sis

Leave a Reply

